Wise County, TX
Homepage

Frequently Asked Questions

Marriage License Information

5
  • In order to obtain a marriage license, both parties must be present proof of identity and age. Examples include:

    • Military I.D.
    • Passport
    • State-issued driver’s license
    • State-issued I.D.
    • Visa

    A certified copy of a birth certificate may be used along with one other form of I.D. Please note that the I.D. presented will be the name used on the Marriage License.

    Marriage License Information
  • Effective September 1, 2017, pursuant to SB Number 1705 Texas Family Code Section 23 was amended. A person under 18 years of age may not marry unless the person has been granted by this state or another state a court order removing the disabilities of minority of the applicant for general purpose.

    Marriage License Information
  • There is a 72 hour waiting period before the license can be used after it is issued. The 72 hour waiting period can be waived if you:

    • Are active military duty
    • Have attended and received a certificate from the State of Texas marriage education course Twogether in Texas
    • Obtain a waiver from the district or county judge
    Marriage License Information
  • The Marriage License if good for 89 days after issuance.

    Marriage License Information
  • The fee for a Formal Marriage License in Wise County is $87 and the cost for an Informal Marriage License (Common Law) is $52. Marriage licenses are payable by cash, or card with a 3.25% service fee. 

    State Marital Education Course

    If you have completed the state marital education course Twogether in Texas then $60 will be deducted from the fee of a formal marriage license. You must bring the certificate from the education course with you when you obtain the license to have the $60 deducted.

    Marriage License Information
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow